Campus Connection: Student Athletes Earn Academic Accolades

The American Rivers Conference (A-R-C) announced the 2020 Fall All-Academic team, which featured 56 Loras College student-athletes from the conference’s sponsored fall sports, regardless if the teams competed in the fall or will play their seasons in the spring. In total, 522 student-athletes from the conference’s nine institutions earned the academic recognition.

Juan Jose Arias (’21)

To be eligible for All-Academic Team honors a student-athlete must be on the eligibility list for the sport of nomination, at least a sophomore in academic standing with at least one year in residence and attain an accumulative grade point average of 3.5 or better (on a 4.0 scale).

The women’s soccer team led the Duhawks with 14 All-Academic honorees including three-time award winners Kiki Cabrera (’21) and Brynn Jacobi (’21). The women’s cross country team had 11 selections with Shania Kelly (’21), Courtney Knight (’21), Morgan Minear (’21) and Emma Woelfel (’21) earning their third honors.

Juan Jose Arias (‘21), Juan David Aristizabal (‘21) and Connor McGarry (‘21) were three-time honorees for the men’s soccer team in addition to women’s tennis’ Audrey Hinz (’21) and Maddie Smith (’21) who both earned their third awards. Men’s cross country senior Brian Maty (’21) and women’s volleyball’s Kayla Tilkes (’21) were three-time selections.

Here is the full list of All-Academic honorees:

Men’s Cross Country
Brandon Doser (’23)
Luke Guttormson (’22)
*Brian Maty (’21)

Morgan Minear (’21)

Women’s Cross Country
Ciera Deitchler (’23)
Marianne Gleason (’23)
*Shania Kelly (’21)
*Courtney Knight (’21)
Abby Landwehr (’23)
*Morgan Minear (’21)
Kaylee Osterberger (’22)
Alexis Riesberg (’23)
Brianna Renner (’22)
Allison Till (’23)
*Emma Woelfel (’21)

Brett Bower (’23)
Dawson Charley (’23)
Josh Rydberg (’23)
Zach Kemp (’22)

Women’s Golf
Mallory Gardiner (’22)

Men’s Soccer
*Juan Jose Arias (’21)
*Juan David Aristizabal (’21)
Alex Beausoleil (’23)
Kyler Donovan (’22)
Seth Kurzynski (’23)
*Connor McGarry (’21)
Tommy Schmitt (’21)
Matthew Williams (’23)

Women’s Tennis
Lauren Diiulio (’23)
*Audrey Hinz (’21)
Molly Monson (’23)
Isabel Schwabe (’23)
*Maddie Smith (’21)

Women’s Soccer
*Kiki Cabrera (’21)
Jaylen Cangas (’23)
Katie Celarek (’21)
Paige Diebold (’21)
Maddi Doss (’23)
Caitlin Farrell (’23)
Brigid Hecht (’22)
*Brynn Jacobi (’21)
Olivia Lansing (’23)
Josie McDermott (’22)
Payton McDonnell (’23)
Hannah Mirimanian (’22)
Ryleigh O’Brien (’22)
Erin Rieckens (’23)
Caitlin Scopa (’23)

Women’s Volleyball
Dani Broeker (’22)
Jade Casper (’23)
James Keefe (’23)
Abbey Kwiatkoski (’23)
Kailee Schacht (’22)
Olivia Smith (’23)
Sam Stoffregen (’23)
*Kayla Tilkes (’21)
Krystal Tranel (’22)
Abi Vito (’23)

  • denotes three-time All-Academic honoree
About Loras College
Founded in 1839, Loras College leverages its historic roots as Iowa’s first college, the second oldest Catholic college west of the Mississippi River and one of the nation’s 10 diocesan colleges to deliver challenging, life-changing experiences as part of its residential, Catholic setting. In 2020, Loras was ranked the 16th Best Regional College in the Midwest by U.S. News & World Report and one of America’s Top 200 Most Loved Colleges/Universities by Forbes Magazine for the fourth consecutive year. Loras students ranked No. 2 in the world as part of the global Peeptrade Investment Challenge while a second group ranked No. 4. For the 12th consecutive year, Loras Media Studies student-led television station (LCTV) was named the TV Station of the Year by the Iowa College Media Association (ICMA).