Hall of Fame to Welcome 5 New Members

Loras College is pleased to announce the induction of Kathryn (Froehlich) Christiansen (’91), Pete Maldonado ’92, Rob Murray ’01, Kyle White ’08 and Joe Schaefer (’62) as the Loras College Athletics Hall of Fame Class of 2020.

The Loras College Athletics Hall of Fame, established in 1986 by the Department of Athletics, recognizes individuals who have made exceptional contributions to the prestige of the college, both on and off the field of competition.

Christiansen etched herself in the swimming and diving program history as a three-time All-American diver and ranks second all-time in both the one and three-meter dives for six dives. White, a four-year starter for the men’s basketball team, ranks among the top-ten for career blocked shots, points and rebounds in addition to helping lead the Duhawks to two Iowa Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (IIAC) Championships and the NCAA Division III Tournament. He was also the first Duhawk to earn conference Most Valuable Player honors.

Maldonado, a four-year member of the wrestling team, is one of six Duhawks to claim a national title after winning the championship at 126 lbs. in 1992. Murray, also a member of the wrestling team, was a two-time National Wrestling Coaches Association (NWCA) Scholar All-American and three-time All-American at 158, 165 and 174 lbs.

Schaefer enters the Hall of Fame as a contributor to Loras athletics following his involvement as a Hall of Fame committee member and dedicated supporter of all Loras activities. He has also served as the emcee for the Hall of Fame banquet for many years.

You can find the full list of Hall of Fame members here.

About Loras College
Founded in 1839, Loras College leverages its historic roots as Iowa’s first college, the second oldest Catholic college west of the Mississippi River and one of the nation’s 10 diocesan colleges to deliver challenging, life-changing experiences as part of its residential, Catholic setting. In 2019, Loras was the second-highest ranked Catholic college in the state of Iowa according to College Consensus, the 16th Best Regional College in the Midwest by U.S. News & World Report and one of America’s Top 200 Most Loved Colleges/Universities by Forbes Magazine for the third consecutive year. Loras students ranked No. 2 in the world as part of the global Peeptrade Investment Challenge while a second group ranked No. 4. For the 10th consecutive year, Loras Media Studies student-led television station (LCTV) was named the TV Station of the Year by the Iowa College Media Association (ICMA).