Loras Athletics Announces Hall of Fame Class of 2021

The Loras College department of athletics is pleased to announce the addition of Lindsey Bava (’10), Thomas Boeh (’81), Dick Cody (’81), Mark Eisbach (’84), Jay Figgins (’08) and Jim Figgins (’68) into the Loras Athletics Hall of Fame as the Class of 2021. The six honorees in addition to the five members in the Class of 2020 will be formally inducted on Friday, Oct. 1 as part of the 2021 Homecoming Festivities at the Grand Harbor Resort.

Bava had a successful basketball career at Loras, holding multiple top-ten career records for the Duhawks. She ranks fourth all-time in scoring with 1,482 points, fourth in three-pointers (172), and first in free-throw percentage (85.4 percent) and is ranked top-ten for single season scoring, three-pointers, free-throws made, and free-throw percentage. Bava landed herself on the D3hoops.com Team of the Week in the 2009 season and went on to become a three-time All-Conference, Academic All-Conference and D3hoops.com All-Region award winner.

Boeh was an eight-time letter winner in cross country and track and field, qualifying for the NAIA National Championship in cross country and both indoor and outdoor track and field ten times. He was a national finalist in the outdoor 5,000-meter run and previously held the school record indoors for the 1,500-meter run as well as the 3,000-meter steeplechase. A three-time captain, Boeh was also honored as an All-District selection seven times and earned the Mark Weber Award in 1980 in addition to the team’s MVP honors during the 1981 track and field season. After his collegiate career, he went on to become the Duhawks’ head cross country coach for the 1982, 1983, and 1984 seasons, leading the team to the Cross Country District Championship each season and named the District Coach of the Year all three seasons.

The football program celebrates two honorees for the Class of 2021 in Cody and Eisbach. Cody, who had his first experience with Duhawk football at the age of 12 as the team’s water boy, came to Loras out of the University of Northern Iowa and became a three-year starter for the football club and varsity teams. He earned NAIA All-America status and was twice named to the NAIA District 15 Team as a linebacker. Eisbach, a local Duhawk out of Wahlert Catholic High School in Dubuque, was named a Second Team NAIA All-American and District 15 offensive lineman after starting every game during his four-year career.

Jim Figgins and his son, Jay, become Loras’ first father-son duo inducted into the Hall of Fame. Both wrestlers for the Duhawks, Jim was a two-time champion at 167 lbs., posting 56 wins in his career with 27 pins and 222 points. He owns a record of 56-23 during his time in purple and gold and had a career high seven pins his senior season. His son Jay continued to the legacy for the Duhawks from 2005-2008, earning All-America honors in 2007 at 184 lbs. where he placed seventh, and owns a program-high 125 wins in his career. In 2007 and 2008, he was the Iowa Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (IIAC) runner-up and was a three-time National Scholar All-American (2006, 2007, 2008).

The Loras College Athletics Hall of Fame, established in 1986 by the Department of Athletics, recognizes individuals who have made exceptional contributions to the prestige of the college, both on and off the field of competition. Additional information and featured stories to celebrate each inductee will be released in the weeks leading up to the Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony. To see the complete Hall of Fame, click HERE and to learn more about the Class of 2020 inductees Kathryn (Froehlich) Christiansen (’91), Pete Maldonado (’92), Rob Murray (’01), Kyle White (’08) and Joe Schaefer (’62) and hear their stories, click HERE.