Loras Media Studies Garners More Accolades

DUBUQUE, Iowa – Loras students earned six top honors as part of the Midwest Broadcast Journalists Association (MBJA)  2020 Eric Sevareid Awards. The awards honor the best work done by student and professional journalists working for broadcast news operations in small, medium and large markets in Iowa, Minnesota, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota and Wisconsin on radio, television and online.

Nine different students had their efforts recognized by the MBJA for work that was completed during the 2019 calendar year. Three first place awards went to pieces by Nate Kaiser (’22), Pat Hunt (’20), Dana Majerczyk (’20), CJ Ponton (’20), Asia Singleton (’20) and Abby Paul (‘). Singleton, Kaiser, and Ponton worked with Maggie Wedlake (’20), Amber Krieg (’20), and Morgan Minear (’21) to earn three Awards of Merit.

The awards are named for North Dakota-born and University of Minnesota-educated journalist Eric Sevareid, best known for his work as a correspondent for CBS Radio and Television. Typically, a ceremony is held each spring as part of the Midwest Journalism Conference. Due to the cancellation of the conference, the winners were shared online.

About Loras College
Founded in 1839, Loras College leverages its historic roots as Iowa’s first college, the second oldest Catholic college west of the Mississippi River and one of the nation’s 10 diocesan colleges to deliver challenging, life-changing experiences as part of its residential, Catholic setting. In 2020, Loras was ranked the 16th Best Regional College in the Midwest by U.S. News & World Report and one of America’s Top 200 Most Loved Colleges/Universities by Forbes Magazine for the fourth consecutive year. Loras students ranked No. 2 in the world as part of the global Peeptrade Investment Challenge while a second group ranked No. 4. For the 12th consecutive year, Loras Media Studies student-led television station (LCTV) was named the TV Station of the Year by the Iowa College Media Association (ICMA).