Miller Nominated as NCAA Woman of the Year

Audrey Miller (’19) of the Loras College women’s cross country team has been nominated to represent the American Rivers Conference (A-R-C) as its NCAA Woman of the Year nominee.

Audrey Miller (’19)

Miller, most recently received third team CoSIDA Academic All-American honors after graduating with a degree in chemistry this spring. She was a 2016 CoSIDA Academic All-American as well as a two-time NCAA Division III All-American and USTFCCCA Scholar All-American. She was the 2016 runner-up at the NCAA Division III Cross Country National Championship and placed 25th as a senior. She holds the program record in 6,000-meter races and is the highest finisher in program history. She has earned four Academic All-Conference honors over the course of her cross country career. In track and field, she is a four-time All-American and holds the 3,000 and 5,000-meter records indoors as well as the 5,000 and 10,000-meter records outdoors.

Outside of athletics, Miller was a student astronomy presenter, a part of the Athletic Directors Council and has presented her research at multiple national conferences. She was the Freshman and Senior Chemistry Award winner and McElroy Graduate Fellowship recipient. The Appleton, Wis. native will attend the University of California-Davis for her Ph. D in Geochemistry/Planetary Sciences.

The other nominees from A-R-C institutions are Emma Gerdes from Wartburg College and Emily Opsal from Central College.

About Loras College
Founded in 1839, Loras College leverages its historic roots as Iowa’s first college, the second oldest Catholic college west of the Mississippi River and one of the nation’s 10 diocesan colleges to deliver challenging, life-changing experiences as part of its residential, Catholic setting. In 2020, Loras was ranked the 16th Best Regional College in the Midwest by U.S. News & World Report and one of America’s Top 200 Most Loved Colleges/Universities by Forbes Magazine for the fourth consecutive year. Loras students ranked No. 2 in the world as part of the global Peeptrade Investment Challenge while a second group ranked No. 4. For the 12th consecutive year, Loras Media Studies student-led television station (LCTV) was named the TV Station of the Year by the Iowa College Media Association (ICMA).